Font Help

Any Font Problems Please install this font. Click Here

Thursday, April 14, 2011

First Indian Woman To Get Arjun Award

N. Lumsden (1961) has got the first Arjun Award in 1961 for hockey.The Indian women's national field hockey team is the national women's team representing field hockey in India. Captain Suraj Lata Devi led the team to the Gold for three consecutive years: during the 2002 Commonwealth Games(the event which inspired the 2007 Bollywood hit film, Chak De India), the 2003 Afro-Asian Games, and the 2004 Hockey Asia Cup. Team members were referred to as the "assi (Jasjeet) jaisi koi nahi" or the "golden girls of hockey," after the 2004 win.
Amongst the very few sports that have been dominating the entire scenario of the Indian sport, the game of Hockey is undoubtedly one of the foremost. Like in all the other fields of Indian sport, this game has also dominated the winners` list of the highly honourable and prestigious sports award named the "Arjuna Award". This domination of the game of Hockey started from the very first year of the award`s inception in 1961, when N. Lumsden and P. Singh became the winners of the award.
Not many even be aware today that Ann Lumsden of Bengal was the first recipient of the Arjuna Award for women's hockey, along with Prithipal Singh.

No comments:

Post a Comment